November 9,  2010

County Council installs new
and re-elected members

HAIL AND FAREWELL -- Judge Jerome Herlihy (left photo) administers the oath of office to Janet Kilpatrick, its only new member, as County Council got an early start on the coming two years. County Executive Chris Coons (right photo)  on Nov. 8 used the ceremonial installation of the six members who are beginning new terms to make his valedictory speech before taking his seat in the U.S. Senate. Council president Paul Clark  (seated left in the left photo) automatically succeeds to fill out the remaining two years of Coons's term. A special election before the end of the year will decide who will follow Clark as Council's presiding officer. Kilpatrick succeeds William Tansey, who did not seek re-election. Elisa Diller and Penrose Hollins were returned without opposition and William Powers, Joseph Reda and Robert Weiner won re-election. In his talk Coons listed accomplishments he said county government achieved despite budgetary challenges during his six years in office. As a  result, he added, "we have a government that is the envy of the region."

2010. All rights reserved.